Dole Leadership Prize

The Dole Leadership Prize is awarded annually to an individual or group whose public service leadership inspires others. The prize includes a $25,000 award.

Past Dole Leadership Prizes

Dole Leadership Prize

President Juan Manuel Santos

September 21, 2022

The Dole Institute of Politics will honor Juan Manuel Santos, former President of Colombia with the 2022 Dole Leadership Prize.The Dole Leadership Prize is a bipartisan award presented annually to an individual who demonstrates the importance of…

Read More >

Dr. Temple Grandin

December 11, 2019

The Dole Institute of Politics will honor advocate for autistic persons and Professor of Animal Science Temple Grandin with the 2019 Dole Leadership Prize.“Temple Grandin is a trailblazer,” Dole Institute Director Bill Lacy said. “She not only…

Read More >

James A. Baker III

November 07, 2018

The Dole Institute of Politics will honor former U.S. Secretary of State James A. Baker III with the 2018 Dole Leadership Prize. Baker served in senior government positions under three U.S. presidents, including as the nation’s 61st secretary of…

Read More >

Tom Harkin, U.S. Senator

October 29, 2017

The Dole Institute is proud to honor U.S. Senator Tom Harkin with the 2017 Dole Leadership Prize. Harkin represented Iowa in the U.S. Congress for more than four decades, including 30 years as a U.S. Senator. As a young senator, Harkin crafted the…

Read More >

Nancy Kassebaum, U.S. Senator

September 17, 2016

Longtime Senate colleagues and friends Bob Dole and Nancy Kassebaum take the stage at the Dole Institute to discuss Congress when they served, the state of Congress today and contemporary politics.

Read More >

William J. Clinton, 42nd President of the United States

November 23, 2015

President Bill Clinton accepted the 2015 Dole Leadership Prize, presented by the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics, for his work balancing the budget and practicing bipartisanship while in office. As president, Clinton led the U.S. to the longest…

Read More >

John D. Kemp, president & CEO of The Viscardi Center

December 14, 2014

The Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics honored John D. Kemp, president & CEO of the Viscardi Center, with the 2014 Dole Leadership Prize. The prize was awarded during an interview with Mr. Kemp, who uses his own life with a disability to…

Read More >

Nelson Mandela, former President of South Africa

October 27, 2013

The Dole Institute of Politics was proud to honor Nelson Mandela, former president of South Africa, as the 2013 Dole Leadership Prize recipient. Mandela's great-grandson, Luvuyo Mandela, accepted the prize on the former president's behalf. The…

Read More >

Wounded Warrior Project

October 14, 2012

With the mission to honor and empower Wounded Warriors, Wounded Warrior Project (WWP) is the hand extended to encourage warriors as they achieve new triumphs. WWP was the recipient of the 2012 Dole Leadership Prize. Wounded Warriors, a WWP…

Read More >

Viktor Yushchenko, former President of Ukraine

September 19, 2011

Viktor Yushchenko, former President of Ukraine, received the 2011 Dole Leadership Prize.“We are honored to give the Dole Leadership Prize to such a great cultural and revolutionary icon,” said Bill Lacy, director of the Dole Institute.…

Read More >

Women Airforce Service Pilots of World War II (WASP)

October 03, 2010

In 2010, the Dole Institute of Politics awarded the Women Airforce Service Pilots of World War II with the Dole Leadership Prize for their courage and contributions during the war.About World War II Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP)Between 1942…

Read More >

Donna Shalala, former Health and Human Services Secretary

September 28, 2009

Donna Shalala received the 2009 Dole Leadership Prize for her long record of public service, including acting as co-chair of the Commission on Care for Returning Wounded Warriors with former Sen. Bob Dole. Chosen in 2007 by President George W. Bush,…

Read More >

George H.W. Bush, 41st President of the United States

November 16, 2008

George H.W. Bush received the 2008 Dole Leadership Prize for his long career in public service.Continuing a family tradition of public service, Bush enlisted in the Navy on his 18th birthday. As a Navy pilot, Bush flew 58 combat missions during World…

Read More >

John Lewis, U.S. Congressman and Civil Rights activist

October 21, 2007

Congressman John Lewis received the 2007 Dole Leadership Prize for his courageous leadership in the Civil Rights Movement and his commitment to creating positive change through the political system.Lewis has dedicated his life to protecting human…

Read More >

Howard H. Baker, Jr., U.S. Senator (2006 Prize Recipient)

April 22, 2007

Former Senate Majority Leader Howard Baker received the 2006 Dole Leadership Prize for his leadership in the Senate, as White House Chief of Staff, and as Ambassador.Senator Baker began his long and distinguished career in public service in 1943 when…

Read More >

Lech Wałęsa, former President of Poland

September 22, 2005

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Former President of Poland, Leader of Solidarity

Read More >

George McGovern, U.S. Senator

September 13, 2004

George McGovern received the 2004 Dole Leadership Prize for his bipartisan leadership style, including his work with Bob Dole to pass significant, bipartisan legislation in the Senate.A native of South Dakota, McGovern had spent much of his life in…

Read More >

Rudy Giuliani, former Mayor of New York City

July 21, 2003

Former New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani received the inaugural Dole Leadership Prize for his valiant leadership during the September 11 attacks in 2001.A graduate of New York University Law School, Giuliani carved a distinguished career in the federal…

Read More >

The Dole Institute is committed to universal accessibility in all programs and resources. We are in the process of making all of our web projects fully accessible. An accessible version of the material represented on this site will be made available upon request. Please contact us at to request the material be made available in an accessible format, or for general assistance.