Robert J. Dole Service to Country Award

The Robert J. Dole Service to Country Award was established by John D. Pinegar, Douglas E. Smith and Pinegar, Smith & Associates, Inc. to provide a $1000 award each year to a student of the University of Kansas who is an active member of the Dole Institute Student Advisory Board (SAB). The recipient shall be committed to public service and have demonstrated leadership. Preference shall be given, but not limited to, SAB members who are serving in active duty, the reserves, or national guard, or are honorably discharged veterans of the uniformed services. The recipient of the award will be honored annually at the Dole Lecture which occurs in the spring semester.

To be eligible, applicants must be a currently enrolled student in good standing at the University of Kansas as well as a current member of the Dole Institute Student Advisory Board.

Students interested in applying for the award must submit a completed application and attach all supporting materials by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, April 1, 2024. Applications must be submitted to with the subject line “Service to Country Application.”

Applicants will be notified by Monday, April 8, 2024.

Robert J. Dole Application

General Information Page for Service to Country Award 2024

Award Recipients

Samantha Casmus

Raina Peter

Sarah Grindstaff

Samiyah Para-Cremer

Emily Depew

Claire Meczkowski

The Dole Institute is committed to universal accessibility in all programs and resources. We are in the process of making all of our web projects fully accessible. An accessible version of the material represented on this site will be made available upon request. Please contact us at to request the material be made available in an accessible format, or for general assistance.